Historical records show that St. Michael’s Lutheran Church began near Rossville in 1819, known then as St. John’s Lutheran and Reformed Church. By 1837, the Lutheran congregation had grown to about 200 members and separated from the Union Church, building their own church at the present site.
The cornerstone was set in place on December 19, 1849 and the congregation became known as St. Michael’s Lutheran Church.
On February 17, 1958, a fire destroyed the building, leaving only the walls standing. The present church building was dedicated on May 1, 1960.
St. Michael’s Lutheran Church remains a vibrant congregation and continues reaching out to serve the Rossville, Wellsville and Warrington Township areas as it has for nearly 200 years.